// New Makeup – March Edition //

Hey guys! I know it has been a super long time since my last blog post, which was back in..January. I’ve just been extremely busy with college, almost all my classes start from 9am to 6pm so my life has been consumed by politics..sociology….psychology and college life in general to be honest! But now that my first term is over and so are my exams, I’m on holiday! Yay!

I apologize if my writing is a little off.. I haven’t blogged in so long.

Anyways, within the past few months I have purchased some great products.

Let’s start..

UNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_4ff

UNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_4e0

I have purchased the Laura Mercier translucent powder before, but the compact version. I didn’t get much out of that so I decided to try it out again. I bought this from John Lewis for £29.00/BND50.61.

UNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_502

UNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_4ddUNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_4de

The powder is lightweight, doesn’t add any additional coverage to make me look cakey. Though, I don’t see anything really special about this powder especially for its price tag. There are cheaper powders out there that you can achieve the same results with.

However, I do like baking under my eyes with this, I don’t usually bake because I feel like it tends to make my under eyes feel dry. This is the first powder that doesn’t do that.

Would I repurchase? Probably not.

 

UNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_4fe

It is so hard for me to find a good, affordable, cruelty free foundation and most drugstore brands aren’t cruelty free.

For a while now I’ve heard great things about the Milani Conceal + Perfect foundation. I think back in January I caved in and bought it from BeautyBay for £13.00/BND22.69, which is a really decent price for a foundation.

UNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_4e1

At first, I bought the shade 03 Light Beige then I noticed it looked quite…grey on my skin, oddly. It wasn’t that obvious though, unless I was under direct sunlight (which is rare here in the UK ha-ha) so I waited until I was almost running out of the foundation. That happened recently, so I bought the shade 02 Natural and thankfully it was a perfect match.

Not sure if you can tell from the picture above, but the Natural shade has a more yellow undertone.

UNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_4e3

I absolutely LOVE this foundation, the coverage is amazing for the price. Usually one and a half pump is enough for me.

UNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_4e2

I can vouch that all the claims are true. Except the water resistant and sweat proof though, since I always set my face with the Urban Decay All Nighter setting spray (AKA magic in a bottle).

Even though the consistency is very thick, not runny at all, you don’t feel it on your skin. I do mix it with one to two drops of oil though to make it easier to blend out and also so that my foundation looks more like skin. Definitely long wearing, I could wear this from morning till night and it still would look like as if I just applied it!

I highly recommend this foundation!

 

UNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_500

UNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_4e4

How can I not get my hands on this concealer right? Ever since it released, it has been raved and praised all over social media! I got this way back in January as well, bought it off their official website for £19/BND33.16. 

Shape Tape Contour Concealer is a 2-in-1 full coverage concealer with a matte finish that’s available in 14 shade selections

UNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_4e5UNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_4e6

UNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_4e7

When I first opened it, my first impression was “Whoa, the wand is HUGE!!” and the scent.. I personally dislike that it has this very florally scent which is so overpowering. I usually don’t mind products with scents, but it’s off putting when you still can smell it even after an hour later!

UNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_4e8

Other than that, this is the first concealer that doesn’t crease like crazy under my eyes, surprisingly! Since the consistency is creamy and thick, thus having a medium/full coverage. You do have to blend quite quickly with this as it does set almost right away.

Although, I think the shade is too light for me (Light Neutral) so I might have to get 2 shades darker next time.

 

The other raved about concealer I got is…

UNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_4eb

The NARS Soft Matte Complete Concealer!

Product story taken from their official website:

Natural look. High coverage. Soft-focus smoothing complex blurs, conceals, and smooths imperfections. Complete comfort. Completely natural-looking. Concealing hits an all-time high. Oil-free. Long-wearing. Non-drying. 16 shades for all skin tones.

INSTANT RESULTS: Soft-focus blurring with high-performance coverage. Optimal Diffusion Powder helps maximize light diffusion with spherical surface powders designed to absorb and refract light for soft-focus perfection. High coverage with weightless wear. Advanced powders with a unique structure lay flat, staying in place without settling into fine lines and pores.

LONG-TERM BENEFITS: Softer, smoother skin. Collagen-boosting peptides and hyaluronic acid reduce the appearances of wrinkles and pores by helping plump the look of skin. Antioxidant Daily Defense delivers a protective cocktail of Vitamins A, C, and E.

UNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_4ecUNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_4ed

I purchased it from the Liberty store in Carnaby for £23.00/BND40.14. I just love this concealer. I can’t describe how much I love it.

Now I was torn between this concealer and the Tarte for a while. The NARS concealer is beautiful for spot concealing since it looks so natural on the skin. So if you get your exact shade you won’t be able to detect it at all. If I’m using the concealer alone, I would just apply it with my ring finger. The warmth of my finger really helps blending it out.

However, I don’t like the NARS under my eyes at all, I think it’s too drying. At the end of the day I can see loads of lines under my eyes. Yikes! Whereas I think the Tarte can be a little too thick on the skin especially if you’re using it on its own.

UNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_4ea

Here’s a comparison swatch between the two concealers so you can tell the difference in consistency.

Overall, I love both concealers. Just depends on which part of my face I’m applying it on. Under my eyes? Tarte. Other areas? NARS.

 

Ever since I started playing around with makeup (around September 2015), literally I only had one bronzer.. I never felt the need to have different bronzers cause I was content with my Too Faced Chocolate Soieil. Until recently I finally hit pan! That gave me a reason to go out and try a new bronzer right?

I was browsing around online, researching what bronzer I should get and I came across The Body Shop. I was reading the review on their Honey Bronzing Powder. The reviews were very convincing honestly. So I was like why not?

I24lo%ZkSEqgb67RAwLx3w_thumb_504

(sorry this picture is different from the others, I took this when I first bought it in London and before I destroyed it!!)

This Honey Bronze Bronzing Powder was only £14.00/24.43, way cheaper than the Too Faced which was £25. 

Taken from their website:

For your most natural looking tan, dust on our sun-kissed, honey-enriched bronzing powder over your skin for a luminous golden glow, year-round. With shades to suit even the palest skin tones, our Honey Bronze™ Bronzing Powder is the effortless way to fake that ‘holiday glow.’ Swirl on this shimmer-free, pressed powder for an even, bronzed, matte-finish.

My first impression of this bronzer was I couldn’t believe how pigmented it is! One time I accidentally applied too much and I barely swirled my brush on the powder. I use the Morphe M530 to apply bronzer if anyone is wondering.

UNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_4ef

I got the Deep Matte because I feel like the other shades before this one is too light for my liking. Plus with this shade, I can go for a soft bronze look or I can build up its intensity.

It’s so easy to apply and blends like a dream too!

I76l9gzARCK4mBVl5P7eHA_thumb_4fb

This is how the bronzer looks like on me.

 

Last two items..

I feel like I’m a little late to join the Kat Von D’s bandwagon? Only because you can only get it in store (as far as I know) at the Debenhams Oxford Street! I’ve always just wanted to visit the actual stall instead of purchasing it online.

 

UNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_4f7

UNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_4f8

I got the colour Trooper for £16.00/BND27.92.

Guys, I’m telling you I have never tried a felt tip eyeliner that glides on so effortlessly before and it doesn’t clingy on to your skin when you’re trying to perfect that wing eyeliner!

The pigmented is so intense you won’t need to go over it twice. The felt tip is flexible enough for you to go in any direction! It is waterproof as well but comes off easily when you’re removing your makeup.

UNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_4fa

 

I also got her Everlasting liquid liptick in Double Dare for £17.00/BND29.67.

UNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_4f2

This shade is is described as a “cocoa blush.” It’s a muted, medium-dark coral-pink with warm undertones and a matte finish.

UNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_4f4

The formula is definitely quite drying. Personally after about 3/4 hours it would start feeling a little uncomfortable and flake off in the middle part of my lips. If I reapplied, it would also flake all over. So usually I would just remove everything and then reapply all over again.

I feel like this tends to happen with most liquid lipsticks. Except Huda Beauty, her liquid lipsticks are still number 1 and the best so far

UNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_4fc

Double Dare on my lips

 

aaand that is all for now! I hope you enjoyed reading! x

 

Find me:

Twitter

Instagram

Ask me anything on:

Askfm

Email:

contact.ninalee@gmail.com

Snapchat:

ninaxlee

5 thoughts on “// New Makeup – March Edition //

Leave a comment