// Random favourites //

Hi guys! I feel like I always start a post with how inconsistent I am or an excuse why I’ve not been blogging. Well, forget that I’ll just get on with it.

However, I did just start my first year of university and moved into a new apartment! So I think I have a better background now for pictures, might improve or change it eventually, we’ll see.

 

Anyways, in this blog post, I just wanted to share products that I’ve been loving recently.

 

The first product is from Zoella Beauty, it’s her Gelato Cream Body Scrub, which I received from @sprinklesofsparkles on Instagram (for those Brunei based people)

IMG_5730

Price: BND22

This scrub is a mix of polishing sprinkles and rich cream is infused with extracts of Elderflower and Pomegranate to help brighten, smooth and tone. It smells like oranges to me!

Okay, so I love the idea of scrubbing away your dead skin cells and having it feel like a baby’s bottom. So body scrubs are essential in my body care routine. I have this in my bathroom, sometimes I switch it up and use Soap & Glory’s Sugar Crush or The Scrub Of Your Life.

When you first open it up, it has a protective seal, always a good thing.

IMG_5732

I just really want to eat it, to be honest, it smells AND looks good.

This scrub is so different from other scrubs I’ve used, it doesn’t have a gritty texture when you first apply, but once you work it into the skin, then you can feel the gritty texture which (obviously) helps you scrub the skin.

 

The second product I received from @sprinklesofsparkles is Colourpop’s The Knockout Pressed Powder Face Duo.

IMG_5738

Price: BND22

Sorry if the packaging looks kinda beat up, I brought it with me from Brunei and it went on a bumpy ride with my other palettes.

IMG_5741

Left- Excuse My French: matte blush; soft peach

Right- Like to Watch: pearlized highlighter; peach with a duo chrome gold flip

IMG_5745

Unfortunately, the blush didn’t really look that great on my skin tone, made it look kind of muddy.

IMG_5750

BUT, that highlight thooooooooough.

 

The third product from @sprinklesofsparkles is NYX Lip Lingerie in Exotic which I am also wearing in the picture above.

IMG_5734

Price: BND20

The formula of this lipstick feels like a mixture of their soft matte lip cream and Anastasia Beverly Hill’s liquid lipstick.

IMG_5736

My first initial thought was that the applicator looks hard to apply with cause it’s flat and long, but it’s actually really nice to “line your lips” with first and then fill in.

The lasting power of this lipstick is amazing. Even after eating some greasy ass food, my lipstick is still there, except the middle part of my lips of course. Though I recommend only reapplying on the area of your lips where the lipstick came off, cause when I reapplied on top of the existing lipstick, it just became flaky. Das not cute.

Take a shot every time I said lip and lipstick

IMG_5743

IMG_5754

It’s such a flattering and gorgeous shade, easily one of my go-to-everyday lipstick shade.

 

Another lipstick I’ve been loving is the Hourglass GIRL Lip Stylo in Achiever 

IMG_5811

Price: £26/BND46.73

It was an impulse purchase, I was in Liberty London and it was calling my name. They had so many beautiful shades, I was torn between Achiever and Peacemaker!

The tube is sort of heavy, but not going to lie, it’s very lavish looking.

IMG_5812IMG_5813

The shape of the lipstick itself makes it easy to apply.

IMG_5814

The shade is described as a deep mauve, I’m all about the mauve shades man.

Besides its gorgeous shade, the formula is very buttery, silky and not drying at all as it’s infused with a luxurious blend of shea butter, jojoba, mimosa and sunflower seed. It has a lustrous finish.

If you’re looking for a high-end lipstick, I would definitely recommend this lipstick!

 

Next is a mascara that I have been raving about for months now…

It’s a Japanese brand called Kiss Me. You see, I have stubborn straight Asian lashes, I wasn’t blessed in that department. So I have trouble finding a mascara that will hold a curl. The only American brand that works for me is the Tarte Lights Camera Splashes, but it’s pretty expensive to get my hands on it here.

So one day, it hit me, why not try an Asian brand? Made for Asians? Duh. So I did my research and a lot of Asians recommend this brand and this specific mascara.

IMG_5824

Price: £12.10/BND21.74

The full name of this mascara is Heroine Make Long & Curl Mascara Waterproof Black.

I get mine from Amazon, the only thing it takes 3 weeks to arrive… But for the price? Worth it. Another place I know which sells this is Sasa in Miri.

IMG_5826

The slightly curved wand really helps coat my lashes evenly from the roots.

 

Now let’s talk about base makeup, shall we?

As most of you know, NARS Sheer Glow was my holy grail foundation, I was a die-hard fan of NARS…..UNTIL THEY DECIDED TO SELL IN CHINA THEREFORE NOT BEING CRUELTY-FREE ANYMORE. That pissed off the whole makeup community, NARS, WHY?

aeaac6b93a5f791aa65abbe5c1db2a1c--watching-america-you-meme

ANYWAYS.. I had to do my research once again to find a new foundation. Don’t get me wrong, I loved the CoverFX Custom Cover Drops, but it’s pretty expensive for 15ml…

I’ve been leaning more towards the “your skin but better” look recently, so nothing full coverage, nothing matte.

 

I discovered the Marc Jacobs Genius Gel Super-Charged Foundation.

IMG_5819

Price: BND75.00

My boyfriend helped me buy it from Sephora Singapore.

The formula of this is super lightweight and definitely gives you the “your skin but better” look. Apparently, it’s buildable, from natural to full coverage, I have not tried building it up to a full coverage cause two pumps is enough for me. It claims to be skin-friendly and hydrating as well, the Buoyancy Gel™ technology enhances the performance of this long-wearing, anti-ageing formula, which includes antioxidant vitamin protection/infusion of Soft Focus Powder reflects light to minimize imperfections while revitalizing multi-vitamins provide ultimate hydration for even application and luxurious wear.

Since it’s hydrating, I’m not sure if it’s suitable for those with oily skin. Although I’ve seen reviews, those with oily skin said they still enjoyed this foundation, they just have to power/blot after 3-4 hours or use a matte primer. I have combination-oily skin. Oily t-zone and dry on the other parts of my face. So I do tend to get a little oily on my forehead after 5 hours or so? I would just blot my forehead and nose, problem solved.

I wouldn’t recommend using a sponge to apply this foundation as it soaks up the product, like, almost all the product. So a foundation brush would be preferable, I use my Morphe M439 brush.

IMG_5821

It has a pump! Always give a point if a foundation has a pump.

IMG_5823

The formulation of this is a cream, not runny at all. So I can see why it claims to be buildable. Oh, and my shade is 34 Beige Medium.

 

My last product is a concealer. I use to love the NYX HD concealer, but I noticed the shade I always get, which is Beige, is too light for me now and that is literally the only yellow undertone shade they have… Even though, they actually have more shades. NYX UK… what’s good???? I think it’s time to bring in more shades don’t you think??

I heard a lot of good things about Urban Decay’s Naked Skin concealer, so I decided to pick it up from their store.

IMG_5804

Price: £19/BND34.11

I was wondering, why did it take me so long to discover this concealer?! The formula is natural yet full coverage. I just love how it covers my redness without needing to colour correct first. It feels smooth under my eyes as well.

It also has skin benefits: Naked Skin Concealer helps improve skin’s youthful appearance and elasticity. Japanese green tea revitalizes and helps reduce the appearance by reducing the appearance of fine lines and giving a brighter, more radiant complexion. The formula is enriched with Matrixyl 3000, green tea, Litchiderm™ (derived from lychee fruit) and sodium hyaluronate. 

Since my everyday makeup routine only consists of concealer, mascara, powder, blush and bronzer, I need my concealer to look like skin. This concealer definitely reached my expectation.

IMG_5807

Not going to lie, this is probably the softest applicator I have ever tried!

IMG_5809

My shade is Light-Medium Neutral.

 

That is all for this post! I hope you guys enjoyed reading x

 

Find me:

Twitter

Instagram

Ask me anything on:

Askfm

Email:

contact.ninalee@gmail.com

 

8 thoughts on “// Random favourites //

  1. ahhhh i wish you have the before or after picture or a video of you trying on the mascara because i have stubborn eyelashes too and im too traumatized to always use the eyelash curler because my cousin did hers everyday and her lashes was gone aka probably too weak alr lmao

    Like

Leave a comment